Ohio Funeral Continuing Education Requirements And License Renewal

Elite provides convenient online courses that meet Ohio funeral continuing education requirements.

5 Mandatory Hours
13 Elective Hours
18 Total Hours

Learn what's required for your Funeral Director license in Ohio

This Funeral Director licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the State of Ohio Funeral Board. We recommend you contact the State of Ohio Funeral Board for more detailed information or changes.
If you obtain Funeral Director licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

Ohio Funeral Directors: Funeral Director

Total Hours Required: 18
Mandatory Hours: 5
Elective Hours: 13
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 12/31/2021
Next Education Due Date: 12/31/2021

Online Info

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the 6 hours of live CE may be completed by online courses for the 2020 renewal cycle.


Five of the required eighteen hours shall be fulfilled through programs addressing the following topics:
  • Ethics (one hour);
  • Preneed (two hours); and
  • Laws and rules regulating the practice of funeral directing, embalming, and cremation (three hours).

Online Limitations

12 hours home-study allowed effective 1/1/2019. Online courses are now timed.

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: State of Ohio Funeral Board
Phone: 6144664252
Fax: 6147286825
Address: 77 S High Street, 16th Floor Columbus, 43215

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.