Florida Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements And License Renewal

Elite offers online courses that are needed for license renewal and meeting Florida massage therapy continuing education requirements.

6 Mandatory Hours
18 Elective Hours
24 Total Hours

Learn what's required for your Massage license in Florida

This Massage licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance Board of Massage Therapy. We recommend you contact the Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance Board of Massage Therapy for more detailed information or changes.
If you obtain Massage licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

Florida Massage: Massage Therapist

Total Hours Required: 24
Mandatory Hours: 6
Elective Hours: 18
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 08/31/2021

Online Info

Mandatory subjects:
  • 2 Hours Ethics
  • 2 Hours Preventing Medical Errors
  • 2 Hours Florida Laws and Rules Governing the Massage Therapy Act
  • 1 hour of Human Trafficking (1 time requirement due by 1-1-21)
In response to COVID-19, the Florida Board of Massage Therapy approved additional changes to the continuing education (CE) rule allowing hands-on courses typically required in a classroom or in-person setting to be taken via distance learning for the 2019-2021 renewal cycle, as follows:

" Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, for the 2019-2021 biennial renewal period, all CE required by this rule may be completed by distanced learning. 
(64B7-28.009(4)(g), Florida Administrative Code)"

If this is your first renewal, you are required to take 1 hour of CE for each month or partial month that has elapsed since your license was issued, which must include 2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors.

Online Limitations

12 hours must be taken in a live (classroom) setting. 


Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: We will report your hours electronically to CEBroker within one business day.  CEBroker is the official CE tracking system for your state licensing board.
Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Name: Florida Department of Health Medical Quality Assurance Board of Massage Therapy
Phone: 8502454161
Address: 4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin #C06 Tallahassee, FL 32399

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.