Nursing: Alzheimer’s Disease: Definitions, Diagnostics and Patient-Centered Care

Want Unlimited CE? Become a Member
About the Course

This course provides a comprehensive guide to Alzheimer’s disease pathology and diagnosis, disease progression, key components of patient-centered nursing assessment, and interventions specific to individuals experiencing dementia. The course also addresses caregiving concerns and caregiver planning.

Learning Outcomes:
Upon completion of this course, the learner will be able to:
  • Differentiate the characteristics and biological processes of Alzheimer’s disease from those in other types of cognitive impairments.
  • Compare the normal changes of an aging brain with the changes that occur in the brain of someone with Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Explain the diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease and the impact nurses can have on patient and family outcomes.
  • Identify nursing best practices for communicating, providing patient-centered care, and using touch therapy and humor therapy with patients with Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Describe nutritional concerns and incontinence in patients with Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Discuss falls, fall prevention, and restraint use in patients with Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Explain the assessment and management of pain in patients with Alzheimer’s disease as well as reasons for hospitalization.
  • Describe holistic nursing care, concepts of spirituality, and special palliative care and end-of-life needs of people with Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Recognize common principles and models for understanding, preventing, and responding to the challenging behaviors of patients with Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Recognize common non-pharmacologic interventions for managing the behavior of patients with Alzheimer’s disease and pharmacologic principles that guide their care.
  • Recognize the challenges and issues that caregivers face in providing long-term care for patients with Alzheimer’s disease.

About the Author:
Jacqueline Close, PhD, APRN, GCNS-BC, FNGNA

Jacqueline Close, PhD, APRN, GCNS-BC, FNGNA, received a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree from Corpus Christi State University, a Master of Science in Nursing from Point Loma Nazarene University, and a Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing from the University of San Diego. Her dissertation research examined the documentation of a systematic assessment for delirium in hospitalized older adult patients who had been medicated with select  antipsychotic medications.  Currently a clinical associate professor in the Master’s Entry Program in Nursing and the Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist Program at the University of San Diego, Dr. Close has been a practicing nurse for over 30 years. A board-certified Gerontological Clinical Nurse Specialist since 2008, her experience spans a number of nursing practice areas, including medical, surgical, orthopedic, critical care, gastroenterology, psychiatry, and gerontology. Areas of professional interest include delirium, dementia, palliative, fall prevention, and end-of- life care.  Dr. Close serves on the board and is very active in the National Gerontological Nursing Association and served as a member of the American Nurses Association Gerontological Nursing Scope & Standards of Practice revision and update in 2010. She is a member of the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists, the California Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists, Sigma Theta Tau International, Zeta Mu at-Large Chapter, the American Nurses Association, and the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.

Find Alzheimer’s Disease: Definitions, Diagnostics and Patient-Centered Care in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming