Nursing: Emergency Nursing Lessons: Geriatric, Infectious Disease, OB-GYN, and Pediatric Emergencies

Want Unlimited CE? Become a Member

About the Course

Target Audience:  The target audience for this education program is nurses working within the emergency department who interact daily with patients presenting geriatric, infectious disease, OB-GYN, and Pediatric emergencies.

Learning Objectives:  Upon completion of this course, the learner will be able to:

  1. Identify the various emergency room presentations that exist among geriatric, ob-gyn, and pediatric populations.
  2. Compare and contrast the various presentations among the geriatric, ob-gyn, and pediatric populations.
  3. Differentiate the assessment and intervention techniques among the geriatric, ob-gyn, and pediatric populations.
  4. List the potential microorganisms that cause infectious diseases.
  5. Compare and contrast the presentations of the various infectious diseases.
  6. Differentiate the interventions to be used with the various infectious diseases.

About the Author

Jennifer R. Buettner, RN, CEN, currently serves as the nurse educator for the emergency department (ED) at DeKalb Medical Center at Hillandale, Lithonia, Georgia. In this role, Mrs. Buettner works to advance the careers of emergency nurses through education and evidence-based practice. Mrs. Buettner holds certifications in basic disaster life support (BDLS), advanced disaster life support (ADLS), and as a certified emergency nurse (CEN), and serves as an advanced cardiac life support (ACLS), pediatric advanced life support (PALS), and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) instructor. She is a course coordinator for the trauma nursing core course (TNCC) and emergency nursing pediatric course (ENPC). She is a current member of the Emergency Nurses Association and an advocate for the Board Certified Emergency Nursing exam.

Find Emergency Nursing Lessons: Geriatric, Infectious Disease, OB-GYN, and Pediatric Emergencies in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming