Nursing: Geriatric Special Topics: Preventing Falls in Acute Care

Want Unlimited CE? Become a Member

About the Course

Target Audience: The target audience for this education program is nurses who want to enhance their ability to prevent falls in the acute care setting.

Course Overview: Many of the adverse health care outcomes resulting from falls, such as injury and/or functional decline, typically strike those patients older than 85 years and can be prevented. The most serious outcome of a fall is a fatality. This education program provides information to help nurses develop strategies to prevent falls and champion nurse-led fall prevention interventions.

Learning Objectives

  1. Describe data pertaining to the effectiveness of fall prevention programs.
  2. Discuss the impact of falls in the hospital setting.
  3. Identify fall risk factors.
  4. Discuss best practice interventions for patients who have fallen.
  5. Describe components of effective fall and injury prevention programs in hospitals.
  6. Use the latest evidence innovations in practice to champion a nurse-led fall prevention intervention to prevent recurrent falls.

About the Author

Deanna Gray-Miceli, PhD, GNP-BC, FGSA, FAANP, FAAN is an Assistant Professor, Rutgers University School of Nursing, Newark, New Jersey and Institute of Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research, New Brunswick, New Jersey. 

Patricia A. Quigley, PhD, MPH, APRN, CRRN, FAAN, FAANP is Retired Associate Chief, Nursing Service for Research, Retired Associate Director VISN 8 Patient Safety Center of Inquiry, James A. Haley Veterans Administration Medical Center Health Services Research and Development, Center of Innovation on Disability and Rehabilitation Research Veterans Integrated Services Network 8, Tampa, Florida.

Find Geriatric Special Topics: Preventing Falls in Acute Care in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming