Nursing: Geriatric Special Topics: Sensory Changes

Want Unlimited CE? Become a Member

About the Course

Target Audience: The target audience for this education program is nurses who want to enhance their assessment skills when evaluating sensory changes in the older adult. 

Course Overview:  Understanding how to assess for and manage sensory deficits is essential to holistic nursing. This education program addresses common age-related changes associated with the senses, as well as disease states and injuries to the senses that occur more commonly with aging. 

Learning Objectives

  • Describe the normal changes of aging that affect the senses in the older adult
  • Identify common disorders that impact the senses in the older adult
  • Determine how best to assess the sensory status in the older adult
  • Identify nursing strategies to manage sensory impairment in the older adult

About the Author

Pamela Z. Cacchione, PhD, RN, CRNP, BC, FGSA, FAAN is the Ralston House Term Chair in Gerontological Nursing, the Associate Professor of Geropsychiatric, a Nursing-Clinician Educator Associate Director of the Center for Integrative Science of Aging, and a PENN SON Liason. She is the National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excellence Interim Program Director of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing Program at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Find Geriatric Special Topics: Sensory Changes in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming