Nursing: Never Shake a Baby: A National Tragedy

Want Unlimited CE? Become a Member

About the Course

Target Audience: Emergency and acute care nurses who work in clinical practice with new mothers, parents, or care givers, as well as nurses who work in areas where babies and young children receive health care. This course meets the requirements for a one-time educational course related to pediatric abusive head trauma (PAHT). 

Course Overview: This course presents the significance of pediatric abusive head trauma (PAHT) or "shaken baby syndrome" and its cause, pathophysiology, risk factors, identification, and care strategies. Children less than two years of age are at the highest risk of this preventable and irreversible injury. Knowledge of risk, case identification, and care strategies are important to good care. 

Learning Objectives  

  1. Define pediatric abusive head trauma (PAHT).
  2. Identify the significance and incidence of PAHT in the United States.
  3. Explain the cause of PAHT.
  4. Describe risk factors for PAHT.
  5. Evaluate the signs and symptoms of PAHT.
  6. Explain the pathophysiology of PAHT.
  7. Compare diagnostic tests to confirm PAHT.
  8. Explain ways to prevent PAHT. 

About the Author

Margaret Nihoul, MSN, RN

Margaret Nihoul is a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner at a community health center and a school-based health center in Massachusetts. She is a graduate from Yale School of Nursing.

Find Never Shake a Baby: A National Tragedy in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming