Nursing: Pain Assessment and Care: A Critical Challenge

Want Unlimited CE? Become a Member

About the Course

Target audience: This course is intended for nurses who want more knowledge on pain assessment and management. 

Course overview: This program provides nurses with an overview of the physiology of pain and the differences between acute and chronic pain. The focus of the program is on assessment, pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic treatment modalities, and the challenge of pain management for the patient experiencing pain. 

Learning Objectives

  • Define pain.
  • Differentiate between acute and chronic pain.
  • Discuss the physiology of pain.
  • Perform a pain assessment with various pain assessment tools.
  • Describe various treatments for pain, including pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatment modalities.
  • Describe the challenges of managing chronic pain.
  • Discuss the special considerations for pain management in various populations, including the elderly, pediatric, addicts, and those at risk for addiction.
  • Discuss the risks for opioid addiction and the misuse of opioids in the United States.
  • Provide educational information to patients regarding pain management.
  • Identify barriers and disparities of the treatment of pain.

About the Author

Susan L. Rubin, MSN, RN

Susan L. Rubin, MSN, RN, received her baccalaureate degree in nursing from West Chester University and a master's degree in clinical trials nursing from Drexel University. She is a published author who has experience as a progressive care unit nurse with a special interest in cardiac nursing.

Find Pain Assessment and Care: A Critical Challenge in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming