Pharmacy: Pharmacological Treatment of Heart Failure

Want Unlimited CE? Become a Member
About the Course
Learning Objectives 
  • Discuss the causes of and risk factors for heart failure. 
  • Describe the signs and symptoms, classification levels, and tests used to diagnose heart failure.
  • Explain comorbidities that can affect the development of heart failure. 
  • Discuss the treatment of chronic heart failure with pharmacological and non-pharmacological interventions.
  • Differentiate between the different classes of medications used in the treatment of chronic heart failure.
  • Summarize the treatment guidelines for the treatment of chronic heart failure.
  • Describe the different types of acute decompensated heart failure.
  • Discuss the medications used in the treatment of acute decompensated heart failure. 

About the Author
Katie Ingersoll-Blair, Pharm.D., R.Ph.
Dr. Ingersoll-Blair is a community pharmacist, consultant and freelance writer who specializes in pharmacy education. She has performed freelance work writing and editing practice questions for various pharmacy technician exams, as well as has written and revised continuing education programs for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. She has also written for Natural Standard, summarizing research studies on dietary supplements and working on the company blog.  Dr. Ingersoll-Blair graduated from Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts in 2009 with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree.

Find Pharmacological Treatment of Heart Failure in your state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming