Pennsylvania Social Worker Continuing Education Requirements And License Renewal

Elite offers online courses that are needed for license renewal and meeting Pennsylvania social worker continuing education requirements.

6 Mandatory Hours
24 Elective Hours
30 Total Hours

Learn what's required for your Behavioral Health : Social Worker license in Pennsylvania

This Behavioral Health : Social Worker licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Coun. We recommend you contact the State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Coun for more detailed information or changes.
If you obtain Behavioral Health : Social Worker licenses in multiple states, we recommend you check each state's requirements.

Pennsylvania Social Workers: Social Worker

Total Hours Required: 30
Mandatory Hours: 6
Elective Hours: 24
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 02/28/2021

Online Info

Mandatory Subjects:

Initial licensure:
  • 1 hour Suicide Assessment Treatment and Management of Risk.
  • 3 hours Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting.
Every renewal:
  • 3 hours of Ethics (course must be 2 hours or longer for credit)
  • 1 hour Suicide Assessment Treatment and Management of Risk (required as of 2/28/2019)
  • 2 hours of Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training (required as of Act 31 of 2014)

Online Limitations

All 30 hours can be done through home-study/online.

Effective January 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DPW-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.

Additionally effective with the first license renewal after January 1, 2015, all health-related licensees and funeral directors applying for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be required to complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of renewal.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process:

Your Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting hours will bereported to the Pennsylvania Department of State within one business day.

Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Name: State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Coun
Phone: 7177831389
Fax: 7177877769
Address: One Penn Center, 2601 N. 3rd Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.